Retired Employees Association of Orange County

AREOC Board & Officers

The Officers and Directors of the Association of Retired Employees of Orange County, Inc., as required by the bylaws consist of President, Secretary, and Treasurer and the number of Directors shall be not less than nine (9) and not more than eleven (11).

President Sara Ruckle Harms
Treasurer Thomas Cooney
Secretary Thomas Cooney
  Gaylan Harris
  Larry Leaman
  Linda Robinson
  Doug Storm

The members of REAOC established a new adjunct organization in December 2008, the Association of Retired Employees of Orange County (AREOC). This is a 501(c) (4) corporation.  The mission of the Association of Retired Employees of Orange County is to protect retirees’ rights and benefits.  The vision of AREOC is “To be a recognized, unifying voice for the protection of retiree rights and benefits.”

As stated in the September edition of The Informer newsletter, the AREOC Board of Directors has produced a 10-page document titled “Understanding Public Sector Retirement Basics” to assist in understanding terms and issues regarding the Orange County Employees Retirement System (OCERS) and issues surrounding public sector retirement systems in general.  Since this document was written, information for the most recent fiscal year has become available from OCERS and that will lead to an update to this document sometime in the future.  Please click on the link below to read this document.

Click here to read “Understanding Public Sector Retirement Basics”